Government – National

Government in UK is made up of layers – all of which are represented in London.

London contains “the mother of Parliaments” at Westminster with the House of Commons of elected MPs (Members of Parliament) and the House of Lords as appointees, hereditary Lords and Ladies and Bishops.

In addition to UK governance London also has probably one of the greatest number and highest concentration of foreign diplomats with Embassies and Consulates from all over the world.

The Government is the party or coalition of parties who have a majority in the House of Commons and who are invited by the monarch to form a Government. The Prime Minister lives at No 10 Downing Street with the Cabinet Office nearby and the Chancellor of the Exchequer next door at No 11.

There is also a Scottish Parliament, Welsh Assembly and a Northern Ireland Assembly.

The senior ministries with ministers are usually recognised as being for the Exchequer (Finances), the Home Office and the Foreign Office.

There follows long lists of government departments with and without ministers. These lists are provided to demonstrate the ranges of opportunities for project management in Central Government as civil servant staff or as external advisors, consultants and contractors with PM skills or services.  Also these lists indicate the range of departments with rules, regulations and requirements that managers of projects are likely to encounter in their project activities.

Information on all Government activities can be recovered from

There are ministries for matters such as:

  • Attorney General’s Office;
  • Cabinet Office;
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy;
  • Department for Digital, Cultural, Media and Sport;
  • Department for Education;
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA);
  • Department for Exiting the European Union;
  • Department for International Development;
  • Department for International Trade;
  • Department for Transport;
  • Department for Work and Pensions;
  • Department of Health and Social Care;
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office;
  • Her Majesty’s Treasury; Home Office;
  • Ministry of Defence;
  • Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government;
  • Ministry of Justice;
  • Northern Ireland Office;
  • Office of the Advocate General for Scotland;
  • Office of the Leader of the House of Commons;
  • Office of the Leader of the House of Lords;
  • Office of the Secretary of State for Scotland;
  • Office of the Secretary of State for Wales;
  • UK Export Finance.

Non-Ministerial departments are:

  • Charity Commission for England and Wales;
  • Competition and Markets Authority;
  • Crown Prosecution Service;
  • Food Standards Agency;
  • Forestry Commission;
  • Government Actuary’s Department;
  • Government Legal Department;
  • Her Majesty’s Land Registry;
  • Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs (HMRC);
  • National Crime Agency;
  • National Savings and Investments;
  • Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills;
  • Office of Gas and Electricity Markets;
  • Office of Gas and Electricity Regulation;
  • Office of Rail and Road;
  • Ordnance Survey;
  • Serious Fraud Office;
  • Supreme Court of the United Kingdom;
  • The National Archives;
  • UK Statistics Authority;
  • UK Trade and Investment;
  • Water Services Regulation Authority.

There is also:

  • the Passport Office.
  • the Patent Office.
  • the Privy Council and Privy Council Office.
  • the Public Record Office and Museum.

Interesting historic buildings also include:

  • Norman Shaw House (MPs), SW1A.
  • Old Treasury Building, SW1A.
  • Old War Office, SW1A.
  • Runnymede – site of the signing of the Magna Carta – as Tony Hancock asked “Did she die in vain?”


See all